What's Happened To Date

In response to results of a risk assessment survey in 2020, the Official Board agreed to undertake a critical assessment of the church's governance structure. In February 2021, a working group called the Governance Review Team (GRT) was formed to review KL's current Official Board-style structure and to recommend a lighter, more agile structure to help KL fulfill its mission efficiently and, in turn, be more appealing to its volunteer base. This is a rough chronology of the GRT's activity and key milestones to date:
  • February 2021 - Governance Review Team (GRT) created 
  • Spring 2021 - Research, including informational interviews with five GTA United Churches who have undertaken governance reform 
  • Summer 2021 - Formulation of proposed Council Model recommendation  
  • August 2021 - Focus Group sessions (three)
  • September 18, 2021 - Roundtable planning session 
  • October 19, 2021 - Official Board Meeting, motion to proceed with new model passed
  • November 16, 2021 - Congregational Meeting, proposed Council Model approved 
  • January 11, 2022 - Approval received from Shining Waters Regional Council 
  • February 8, 2022 - Update given at the Meeting of the Official Board
  • March 6, 2022 - Update given at the Annual Congregational Meeting 

What's Next?

Going forward, there are steps to take to implement the new Council-style vision. We welcome your help in making the transition happen. Here are some short-term "next steps":

  • June 2022 - Tentative timing for a special Congregational Meeting to approve new Council members and the new Constitution and to hold an open forum to discuss strategy and KL priorities

To Contact the GRT

Below is a list of the GRT Members. Feel free to approach any one of them if you seek more information OR wish to explore taking on one of the available Council leadership roles.  See the PDF attached further down for proposed "Ministries" within the proposed Council model.

  • Geoff Butler
  • Charles Donley
  • Mireille Khayat
  • Sheryl Macdonald
  • Jim Newton
  • Elizabeth Tomik
  • John Waymann